October 15, 2008

Their First Breakthrough RIAA Platinum Albums – Self-Produced And Self-Written For The First Time

Both Expanded Editions With Multiple Bonus Tracks – Rare 12-Inch Disco Mixes Previously Unavailable On CD

First expanded editions from Jacksons’ catalog, with liner notes by Ernest Hardy, arrive at both physical and digital outlets on January 27, 2009, through Epic/Legacy

The evolution that began in 1976, of the classic Motown teen hitmaking group the Jackson 5 into the independent grown-ups known forever after on Epic Records as the Jacksons – was a transition that did not happen overnight. But there is universal agreement that by the time they released their third album for their new label, 1978’s Destiny (with the worldwide hits “Blame It On The Boogie” and “Shake Your Body”), followed by 1980’s Triumph, the first RIAA platinum album of their career – both LPs self-produced for the first time, and (mainly) self-penned – the transition was complete.

“Three decades after its initial release,” writes Ernest Hardy of Destiny, “it’s still fresher – more potent, more substantive within its sturdy R&B/pop structure – than most of what you hear playing on the radio or streaming on the net today.” In honor of its 30th anniversary, DESTINY, including two bonus tracks of rare 12-inch disco mixes previously unavailable on CD, and TRIUMPH, with three bonus tracks of rare 12-inch mixes also previously unavailable on CD, will both arrive at both physical and digital outlets on January 27, 2009, through Epic/Legacy, a division of SONY BMG MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT.

DESTINY and TRIUMPH represent the first expanded editions ever issued by Legacy on the Jacksons, from their catalog of seven original studio and live albums on Epic between 1976 (The Jacksons) and 1989 (2300 Jackson Street). They follow the February 2008 release of the two-disc CD+DVD 25th anniversary expanded edition of Michael Jackson’s THRILLER, which has sold over 2 million copies worldwide so far this year.

Michael, celebrating his 50th birthday on August 29th, and the Jacksons will be among the focal points of Universal/Motown’s 50th anniversary campaign this fall.

Both DESTINY and TRIUMPH have been newly remastered in the U.S. for the first time in more than a decade, by three-time Grammy Award-winning engineer Mark Wilder. In addition, these expanded editions gain historic importance with new liner notes essays by Ernest Hardy, an award-winning music and film critic and author published in the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Village Voice, Rolling Stone, and elsewhere. Hardy last worked for Legacy when he penned extensive notes for Love, Luther (Epic/J Records/Legacy), last year’s four-CD box set tribute to Luther Vandross; and has also written notes for albums by Chet Baker, Johnny ‘Guitar’ Watson, and Chuck D’s anthology of hip-hop protest songs, Louder Than A Bomb.


1. Blame It On The Boogie (1st single, R&B #3, Hot 100 #54)
2. Push Me Away
3. Things I Do For You
4. Shake Your Body (Down To The Ground) (2nd single, R&B #3, Hot 100 #7)
5. Destiny
6. Bless His Soul
7. All Night Dancin’
8. That’s What You Get (For Being Polite)

Bonus tracks:
9. Blame It On The Boogie (John Luongo Disco Mix)
10. Shake Your Body (Down To The Ground) (John Luongo Disco Mix).

1. Can You Feel It (3rd single, R&B #30, Hot 100 #77)
2. Lovely One (1st single, R&B #2, Hot 100 #12)
3. Your Ways
4. Everybody
5. This Place Hotel (aka Heartbreak Hotel) (2nd single, R&B #2, Hot 100 #22)
6. Time Waits For No One
7. Walk Right Now (4th single, R&B #50, Hot 100 #73)
8. Give It Up
9. Wondering Who

Bonus tracks:

10. This Place Hotel (aka Heartbreak Hotel) (Single Version)
11. Walk Right Now (John Luongo Disco Mix)
12. Walk Right Now (John Luongo Instrumental Mix).