"Michael" Single Announcement and Tracklisting | The Official Michael Jackson Site

"Michael" Single Announcement and Tracklisting

November 12, 2010

New York, NY - The first official single from the forthcoming Michael Jackson album MICHAEL will be released globally on Monday, November 15th at 12:01am EST. The song entitled “Hold My Hand” will be unveiled on www.michaeljackson.com and for sale digitally thereafter.

“Hold My Hand”, a duet with Akon, is a song they recorded in 2007. A handwritten note from Michael belonging to his Estate indicated his desire that “Hold My Hand” be the first single on his next project. However, in its unfinished state, the song leaked out in 2008. Akon recently completed the new and final production of “Hold My Hand.”

Akon comments, “The world was not ready to hear ‘Hold My Hand’ when it leaked a couple years ago. We were devastated about it. But its time has definitely come; now in its final state, it has become an incredible, beautiful, anthemic song. I’m so proud to have had the chance to work with Michael, one of my all time idols.”

On December 14th, Epic Records in conjunction with the Estate of Michael Jackson, will release the much-anticipated new album MICHAEL. The album contains ten tracks, produced by an esteemed group of producers along with Michael Jackson. While primarily focused on songs that Michael worked on recently, there are also earlier compelling tracks.

MICHAEL is the first release in nine years of new material by one of music’s most beloved icons whose artistry continues to touch new generations of fans. The album marks another release under the new agreement between the Estate of Michael Jackson and Sony Music announced in March that continues the label’s 35-year relationship with Michael and his music. During that time, Michael sold hundreds of millions of records, had 13 #1 singles and released the pop culture phenomenon “Thriller,” which remains music’s all-time bestselling album with more than 100 million copies sold worldwide.


1. Hold My Hand (Duet with Akon)
2. Hollywood Tonight
3. Keep Your Head Up
4. (I Like) The Way You Love Me
5. Monster (Featuring 50 Cent)
6. Best Of Joy
7. Breaking News
8. (I Can’t Make It) Another Day (Featuring Lenny Kravitz)
9. Behind The Mask
10. Much Too Soon


Comments (84)

This is awsome the songs he didnt put out should have they still would have been great. oh well we have them now Luv u michael R.I.P.

This is number one material

the one who doesn't respect Michael is $ONY

Hey, it is 12:10. Where is the song???

OMG!!!! a few seconds to hear the song


Michael owns the Victory Tour. He spent his own money to film the tour. Sony has no rights to release that. I will not be buying anything $ony puts out now. I am content with Michael's work pre-June25, 2009. If you want to have the HIStory tour and a lot of MIchael's tours and live shows, look for it on the internet. It is available and you can purchase it. I will not support $ony and betray our angel, Michael. I will not be marked as a traitor. I love Michael and to honor him is to honor his wishes - not to have anything to do with $ony. It is unbelievable that $ony can spend money to have a forensic expert verify Michael's voice but do nothing to investigate his murder. How much do you love Michael? Show it by honoring him and not buying into $ony's gimmicks.

I will ALWAYS love MJ and everything he stood for. He was a precious gift from God to allow ALL of us to see the LOVE we can spread through all the world. Whether you do or do not believe it is really Michael and I personally believe it is because most of what i"ve heard sounds like the invincible album, please stop being so cruel with your comments. Michael's children need our support- It's all for LOVE!!! I can't wait to hear MJ played on the radio again and to hear the CD entirely!!! Michael was a perfectionist and because he was unable to oversee the finished product, this may not be up to his typical standards but it is still MJ and his legacy liveson!!! Love U MJ!!!